Netflix to cancel free trial month in Latin American, Caribbean and European countries

Netflix ended its one-month free offer for new subscribers in several Latin American, Caribbean and European countries  Those affected by the measure are Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba,  Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela, according to the official Netflix help page. The OTT did not make this modification in Brazil and Puerto Rico.

To confirm the free period availability, subscribers need to enter Netflix’s help website and choose the country, and it will display a message from the company, where the measure is announced: ‘Free trials are not currently offered in your country. To start your new subscription, just go to, choose the plan and the payment option that best suits you, enter your email, establish a password and start enjoying’, is written.

However, the company did not guarantee the removal to be permanent. ‘We are testing the availability and duration of a free trial to better understand the value of Netflix for consumers. Generally, these tests change in duration and by region, and may not be permanent’, they informed. The measure also affected Spain, the US and the United Kingdom, and  is added to the subscriptions value increments from Mexico and Brazil in Latin America, available from last March 14th.