ESPN acquires Premier League’s broadcasting rights in several South American countries

A few days after the beginning of football activities in England, ESPN announced it has acquired the exclusive rights to broadcast the next Premier League’s three seasons. The agreement with DAZN, which has the rights for all Spanish-speaking Latin American countries, includes the 2019/2020; 2020/2021 and 2021/2022 seasons and covers pay TV and digital platforms in Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

‘Premier League is one of the most important and competitive national leagues in the world, and we are please to have ran an agreement with DAZN. This will allow ESPN to continue offering the largest catalog with international broadcasts of the best football in the planet’, said Michael Walters, Programming Vice President at ESPN.

The Premier League’s 2019/2020 season is starting this weekend with the 10 matches scheduled for the fixture date, which will be live broadcast on ESPN’s platforms, including the match between Chelsea and Manchester United, scheduled for this Sunday from the Old Trafford Stadium. 20 football teams will be taking part of the competition, such as Manchester City (last Premier League’s champion); Liverpool (last UEFA Champions League’s champion); Chelsea (last UEFA Europa League champion), Tottenham (UEFA Champion League runner-up); Arsenal (last runner-up of the UEFA Europa League) and Manchester United. Norwich City, Sheffield United and Aston Villa’s football teams, recently promoted to the competition, will also take part of it from this coming season.