A year after postponing the analog switch-off from 2022 to 2024, Paraguay now wants to anticipate it to 2020


The National Telecommunications Commission (Conatel) of Paraguay announced it intends to anticipate the deadline for the analog switch-off to 2020, according to the words of its President, Teresita Palacios, during the ceremony where Tigo and America Movil companies where granted 4G internet licenses.


In February 2015, Paraguay had postponed from 2022 to 2024 the deadline for the transition to Digital Terrestrial Television (DTT). This country will begin this year with the migration from analog to digital television.


Paraguay will join the other countries in the region with the migration in progress: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Peru, El Salvador, Dominican Republic, Uruguay and Venezuela. Mexico finished it (with exceptions) at the end of 2015.